research ideas ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

britnaaaay

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
so i just stumbled upon this site and thought it may be beneficial. i have never done this kind of thing before so just be patient with me...

so i have been trying to think of ways to better my chances on getting accepted to vet school and i know that undergrad research would look great. problem is, i have no idea where to begin or what i could possibly do it on. any advice, ideas or topics would be great !

thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I haven't got any research experience, but my undergrad has some as classes. You talk to the professor and register for their class, then help them with their research. You can at least start by talking to a professor about what kind of research they're doing and ask how you can get involved.

When I was in undergrad I went to my Biology department's website and looked through the list of PIs and their research. I picked a few that I was interested in and emailed them, saying that I was interested in their topic of research and asking if I could meet with them for an opportunity to work in their lab. Keep in mind that some labs don't accept undergrads. I was lucky to be able to meet with and be offered a position at the first lab I contacted. My undergrad school also gives credits for research, so it was an easy GPA booster :D

Make sure you are actually INTERESTED in the research. No use getting stuck in a lab you don't enjoy. Seriously. Also, make sure you actually read some of the PI's published articles (at least read the abstract!) so you show the PI that you made some effort to prepare for your meeting.

After you introduce yourself in your email(s), ask the PI to talk more about his/her research. They love to talk about their research :laugh: