This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ReturnToSender

ReturnToSender
5+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi all, been reading through the other threads but still can't gauge where i'm at, so if you could help thank youu

applied last cycle with 508 mcat, 400+ combined hrs shadowing (2 diff drs), 1000+ hrs hospital volunteering at 2 diff places, 3.9 cGPA, 3.8 sGPA, various leadership and ECs, 2 yrs research and 1 short-lived job. applied to a bunch of MD and DO schools, got 2 interviews (1 MD, 1 DO), waitlisted for both schools

i want to reapply this cycle but i can only add my completed degree (i graduated), emt certification, 1 more year of research, a job to my app, so essentially i'll be resubmitting the same one from last year. i'm planning to scribe and start a medical research internship (and maybe shadow?) in august but i'd already have submitted my app by then and would just list all of that in update letters that i'll likely send out early sept.?

would it be too late to send these updates to greatly impact school's decisions?

i would wait to reapply next cycle but a) idk if my pre-health advisor from college would help me a year after i left school, and i'm scared to navigate through all of it again, and b) my 2017 mcat would have expired, and i'm genuinely not sure if i can retake it later and get a higher score.

what should i do? continue to apply this cycle or wait? :/ thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Where is your state of residence ? Which schools did you apply to and where were your interviews and wait lists ?
nj, i applied to all state schools there, and some schools in pa, ny, md, oh, fl (basically east coast)

Members don't see this ad :)
I suggest applying more broadly and include other areas of the country. You should also add DO schools and you are competitive for all DO schools with your stats. I suggest these MD schools with your stats:
Your 3 NJ state public schools