This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1075187

Hi all,

I’m a 4th year student applying for internships. Im interested in surgery, neurology, and comp med/lab animal.

I keep being drawn to surgery as a specialty as it would offer the most opportunity (and I enjoy surgery) - I would be able to do neurologic surgeries in addition to other body systems.

My question is how truly competitive are the surgery residencies? It seems as though many people do multiple internships (rotating, then specialty). I am happy to do 2 internships, but I’d rather not spend 4+ years as an intern before residency. I am finishing in the top 15% of my class. I am on one publication as an auxiliary author, though from my understanding a first authorship would be more ideal.

If i completed a rotating internship then surgical internship, would it hamper my application for another specialty if surgery doesn’t work out? There are surgical aspects to other specialties like neuro, but it is an internal med specialty at heart. Lab animal may have surgery involved if you're at the right location/company, but from my understanding these can be few and far between/you act as consult or training for researchers performing their own. If anyone has lab animal experience with a decent amount of surgery involved I'd love to hear more.

thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi all,

I’m a 4th year student applying for internships. Im interested in surgery, neurology, and comp med/lab animal.

I keep being drawn to surgery as a specialty as it would offer the most opportunity (and I enjoy surgery) - I would be able to do neurologic surgeries in addition to other body systems.