Transfer, take year off, or suck it up....

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

BolderNewfy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am a finishing my intern year at a small comunity program in internal medicine where I matched as a categorical. I graduated from one of the better caribbean medical schools and actually did quite well on my boards (upper 230s on both steps). I am a US citizen.My girlfriend(now fiance) and I both matched at the same program. I have been unhappy with internal medicine from the beginning of my intern year but know that it is common to be unhappy during your intern year and so decided to stick it out and hope that I would come to enjoy it more. Now Im three months away from finishing intern year, and while I am better at internal medicine, and less stressed I still dont think that internal medicine is the best choice for me. My questions and apprehensions are manifold;

1) Internal medicine is incredibly stressful, and I see it in the attendings face everyday. The hours for the hospitalists dont seem that great and the focus of hospitalist work is on throughput ie moving meat as fast as possible. I just dont think this is the kind of environment I want to work in. I am not inerested in subspecialization either. Private practice seems even more stressful from what Ive seen and experienced. Am I crazy for thinking that the life of a psychiatrist would be less stressful, and provide me more time to interact with patients.