University of Connecticut Medicene/Dentistry ????????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

silly_boy2001

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am going to UConn at Storrs, CT in fall of this year. I liked the UConn campus, it was quite simply HUGE. Nevertheless, I will be majoring in comp. sci/engng. and take pre-med. courses juxtapose to former.
My question, rather request, is to ask someone [knowledgeable about UConn] to tell me whether or not this is a good idea (one essential detail: I am a good student and am used to hard-work course load) and what other possible paths do I have to UConn's med. school (besides regular bio, chem, english, or physics major).
Finally I wish to know that person's opinion about UConn and everything else that he/she can think off top of his/her head.
Thanks to anyone who will help me gain insight on these :confused: questions.

--- Rich :D :D

Members don't see this ad.

I went to UCONN Storrs. I would suggest
to you to join the honors club, or an
academic fraternity. I would also suggest
that you find another dedicated student and
rent an apartment in Celeron Square or a
small apartment complex off campus that
is not known for it's parties. UCONN is
a big school with big parties. Don't get
caught up in it. I would suggest a major
in neuroscience, biology, genetics. I
wouldn't try to major in electrical
engineering and take the premed courses.
The reason being, if your serious about
med school, is that it is important during
your senior year to have enough time to
study for the MCAT. The MCAT is a prime
factor in admissions. The other factor is
hospital experience and reference letters.
You need to have time to relax once in a
while, work out, play some intramural sports, go to huskies, so dual majoring
may not be the smartest thing to do.
I can't speak for you but am just giving
you suggestions. Work hard, relax,and
keep the parties to a minimum.
Tim.