What should I do to improve my application?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

markelle

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, this is my first post here on SDN so here it goes....

Currently I am a junio at UMaryland college park
I started out my pre-med journey at community college which I 1/2 & 1/2 regret.
But this was only because of financial reasons.
I am a first generation college student. URM AA female. We had minor financially problems in 2013- 2015 when my dad had to help my grandfather get out of debt in Ethiopia so I didn't have a choice except for CC. My parents hate loans and pay everything out of pocket.

Anyways at CC I almost did very well, basically a 4.0 in everything but organic 1 &2 I got C's in both And since that's a 5 credit class it brought my gpa down to a 3.75
I took the pre.reqs there (organic, biology, inorganic chemistry, physics calculus, 1&2 all at CC and microbiology , and genetics.) I go to the #1 CC in my state so those classes weren't easy but I know the stigma they carry.

Now I'm at UMaryland CC
I'm doing pretty well here after the first month I have a 4.0 but I'm aware things can change but I think I can get it now that I'm seeing just how challenging it really is.

Let's say I will be able to graduate with a 3.9
And get a MCAT of 510,
I plan to take a gap year, graduate in 2017 and matriculate in 2018 so I don't plan to take MCAT until either October/December 2016/ April2017(last attempt )

Now for EC's
•SMDEP
•By the time I apply I'll have 2 years of clinical exeprience as a "clinical technician"
•I work with patients at the doctors office
Test vision. Dilate patients eyes. Assist in small surgical procedures. And record doctors notes and findings.
•President of Math club
•Tutor of inorganic chemistry and physics
•Been involved in journalism club for CC newspaper,
•philosophy club
•Currently in community service club at my uni