MD Worried about grades..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bschaefer97

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I just got a test grade back in my Genetics class that means I'll likely end up with a B, B+ or A- in the class overall, and I was just wondering how everything shaped up so far. This has likely been covered in a different thread, if so, just LMK and I will check it out. Just a bit worried about how this will affect my chances.

For background, I go to a state university (ASU....*), and plan on applying to MD schools throughout the country (a few really good schools, a few more average schools, and obviously one or two fall-back schools). I am a sophomore now, and expect to graduate in Spring 2019 with a degree in Biology with a concentration in Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior. I am considering MD/PhD programs as well. I am in the honors college at my Uni, if that is anything to consider.

*I know ASU is certainly the butt of many jokes in terms of being a degree-mill or whatever. I don't disagree that it comes off (or is) what people think of it, and I'm mostly curious to see if Med schools consider this as a big factor when looking at my app. Realistically, I'm sure if my GPA is great and MCAT is as well, they won't have an issue since that pretty much shows that the courses were rigorous enough to prep me.

Current Grades/Expected for this semester:

(SCIENCES)
Gen Chem I: A
Gen Chem II: A
Gen Bio I: A
Gen Bio II: A
Precalc: B+
Calculus: A

(NON-SCIENCES)
Human Event I: A
Human Event II: A
MED 100: A+
ASU 101: A+ (lol)
ENG 102: A+

Current cumulative GPA: 3.99

(CURRENT CLASSES/BEST GUESS FOR FINAL GRADE)
Organic Chem I: A
Organic Chem I Lab: A
Gen Genetics: B to A- (A- means doing VERY well for the rest of the semester...chances are low)
Medical Anthropology: A
Biostats: A
SOLUR Seminar: Pass/Fail (Pass)

EC's: