This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chemdoctor

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I am a freshman in college right now. I would like to know a few stats of accepted MD applicants? I want to know the type of things I should aim for. Right now, I have really good grades, I'm taking Organic Chem Honors over the summer and I do lifeguarding and shadowing at the side. I hope I'm on the right track. I'd like to know what else I could do to improve my chances? In terms of stats, I'd like to know everything GPA, Science GPA, MCAT score, type of research, EC, etc.

Members don't see this ad.

Volunteer volunteer volunteer (at local hospital, at a soup kitchen, teaching under represented in middle school/hs)

Members don't see this ad :)
Shoot for 3.7+ and 510+

Reactions: 2 users
Hello, I am a freshman in college right now. I would like to know a few stats of accepted MD applicants? I want to know the type of things I should aim for. Right now, I have really good grades, I'm taking Organic Chem Honors over the summer and I do lifeguarding and shadowing at the side. I hope I'm on the right track. I'd like to know what else I could do to improve my chances? In terms of stats, I'd like to know everything GPA, Science GPA, MCAT score, type of research, EC, etc.
So far it seems you are on the right track! Medical schools do holistic review so they consider many different factors all together. But in general, like a poster above said, I think 3.7+ (if you can, 3.8+) science GPA, 510+ MCAT should be good for stats. For EC's, do what you are passionate about, something you can dedicate yourself to. I definitely do think shadowing and volunteering are important. Don't do it to check off a box, do it because you like it. If you can find a part time job, perhaps in a summer, that is good too-seems like you have that, with lifeguarding.