This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dalaidog14

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all SDNers,

I am new here, but really need some advice. I have never posted on a forum before, so here goes.

Here is a quick summary regarding me:
I graduated in 2014 with a 3.97 at an upper tier liberal arts college with a BA in Biology and Hispanic Studies. I ended up taking three gap years working full time first as a medical scribe in the ER and then as the chief recruiter at a Cardiology scribe company. I postponed my MCAT several times, mainly due to a combination of my own laziness, lack of mental/emotional preparedness to go back into school, and need to work full time.

Now fast forward to the present day:
I am scheduled to take the MCAT June 18 in order to apply for the 2017 cycle. I finally was prepared to hunker down and study. Then life threw me a major curveball. This past November, my father took his own life. As an only child and the product of divorce, I have been the executor of his estate. Needless to say, between grieving, settling his affairs, and working part time, I have had difficulty studying. I could in theory quit my job to focus on only studying (I would be able to financially survive for a few months), but my primary support system is at work, and I don't know if I could emotionally handle that isolation right now.

I am honestly at a loss as to what to do, which is why I have reached out to the interwebs. I could:
1. Maintain my current work schedule and hope I somehow become focused enough to prepare adequately for the June MCAT.
2. Quit work and only study for the MCAT (and possibly go crazy).
3. Accept that I should not apply this cycle, but still try to take the MCAT this year (i.e. in September). At least then, I could retake the MCAT if need be before the 2018 cycle and still feel like I accomplished some of my goals.
4. Other options...