This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

jennifercapistrano3165

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a sophomore at a university and currently have two C's. One of them I am trying to see if I can bump it to a B because I got a 79.6. Stupid, right? However, for my current quarter, fall quarter, I'm estimated to have 3 C's. One of them I'm planning to not take the final because I want to retake the course. Our university currently changed the policy that with a C grade, you cannot retake the course anymore. Therefore, the smartest way is to not take the final because even if I get 100%, I'm not going to get a B. Overall, I'll have 4 C's and 1 F(will change because I'll be retaking it). I know the average to getting into vet school is around a 3.5 and I know it is only going to get harder and I still have a long way to go. Should I start looking for alternatives? Because I don't have any since being a veterinarian has been my dream career.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
If you don't take this final I'm assuming you will receive an F? I may be in the minority here.. but I would highly discourage not taking the final because there are several schools who will average grades instead of replacing them... so even if you would get an A you would only have a "C" in the eyes of the vet school.

As far as being "on-track" and looking at alternatives... have you started shadowing/volunteering at a vet clinic yet? If not I would highly suggest getting some experience to see if this is the career you are set on.

Reactions: 1 user
Don't purposely fail, withdraw (if you can). A "W" is better than an "F" or an "E" or whatever the hell else schools like to brand a failed grade.

Are you at a school with a non-standard grading scale? Most places an 89.6 is a B+, not a C.

Members don't see this ad :)