Does anyone have non-traditional way of taking notes?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doc4kids93

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
How do you take notes? My note taking has evolved over the years based on classes. My freshman year, I would use the traditional notebook and paper, but I found that I write too slow, so I started using a computer to type. My sophmore year, I would use a camera to record my physics lecture (with the permission of the professor) and then watch the videos later to study.

Does anyone take notes in a non-traditional way (video recording, Livescribe Smartpen, iPad apps, etc) that is different from the traditional notebook and paper?

Members don't see this ad.

Since I'm an old nontraditional student, I use a stone slate and chisel for fancy notes, or homemade paper and charcoal for run of the mill practice and hw.

I also use a Surface Pro 3 and OneNote. I highly recommend for science coursework.

Sent from my SM-N910P using SDN mobile

Reactions: 8 users
I write in cursive. I have no idea how the kids keep up taking notes in print.
I also use a Surface Pro 3 and OneNote. I highly recommend for science coursework
+1. Total game changer.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Print ppts and highlight or make notes in margins. Will try to do that on iPad for med school.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Yes, do this on One Note with a stylus and its great. Figured this out during my last semester in post-bacc.