This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

csh4456

Reaction score
Hi there! I am a PA resident and incoming sophomore at the University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg. I was just wondering if I could get any feedback/advice on what I have completed so far in my journey towards veterinary school. I have always had very big dreams of becoming a zoological/conservation vet ever since I was little, and yes I am aware of the competitiveness, low pay, and job market for zoo vets but that does not steer me away from my passion. I do have some schools in mind but none are set in stone on a list just yet. If anyone would be willing to provide and kind of feedback or advice on my current stats or even what schools to be on the look out for, I would be greatly appreciative. Thank you and best of luck to everyone!

20, M, PA resident, still about 2 years until I apply

Cumulative GPA: 3.52
Science GPA: 3.30
Last 45: N/A

Defiantly plan on trying my best to improve both:xf:

Degrees (IN PROGRESS):
B.S. in Biological Sciences, University of Pittsburgh at Greensburg
Minor in Chemistry and Criminal Justice

Veterinary Experience:
350 hours at small animal/exotic clinic (also sees some livestock and emergencies)
65 hours at small animal specialty clinic
415 total hours

I obviously plan to add more hours as time goes on. I currently have shadowing set up at an emergency and specialty clinic in my area which I am excited for. I would love to add equine/food animal but sadly there are no vets in my area that I can find who still do this, the only one retired about 3 years ago. I would love to add further diversity to my shadowing though!

Animal Experience:
200 hours at wildlife rehab clinic
50 hours at local humane society
200 hours (probably more) with my father tagging/surveying massasauga rattlesnakes and eastern hellbenders with DCNR
100 hours pet sitting
550 total hours