Help Me With My Decision Please!!!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NStan5

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am going into my last semester of undergrad. I would say that I will be graduating conservatively with a cumulative GPA of about a 3.5 with a science GPA of about a 3.1. I am deciding whether I should take my last pre req for a DO school (Physics) or PA school (Anatomy). I have reasonabley good ECs as I am an EMT and etc. Would I be competitive for DO schools with this GPA? Realistically what would I need to score on the MCAT to stay in the ballpark? Thank you for your responses I really appreciate it!

Members don't see this ad.

I am going into my last semester of undergrad. I would say that I will be graduating conservatively with a cumulative GPA of about a 3.5 with a science GPA of about a 3.1. I am deciding whether I should take my last pre req for a DO school (Physics) or PA school (Anatomy). I have reasonabley good ECs as I am an EMT and etc. Would I be competitive for DO schools with this GPA? Realistically what would I need to score on the MCAT to stay in the ballpark? Thank you for your responses I really appreciate it!

Will the potential A in the courses you listed above bring your GPA above a 3.2? Realistically w/ a science GPA that low, you will have slim pickins even for DO schools (KCU screens applicants pre secondary with GPAs below 3.25, doesn't matter your MCAT score). I am certain a good majority of DO schools would also send you app to the hold or WL pile with a sGPA of a 3.0 or 3.1 (whatver it goes up to)

MCAT: most DO schools prefer a minimum of 24 (probably something like. 500 on the new MCAT). Because you already have the lower science GPA, it will be imperative to get a MCAT score that is well above the minimum required by DO programs. Probably a 503-504 or higher.

Reactions: 1 user