This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Gap year? What should i do with my Gap year?

• Other (Please Specify)

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

CCpremedRP

Reaction score
Hello SDN. Sorry about the length of the original post, its my first time using the forums.

Background
- Ethnicity: Filipino (Born in the Philippines, moved to America and became an American Citizen)
- State of Residence: NJ
- Major: B.S. Science w/ Minor in Psychology at a 4-year private university in NJ.
- I am the first college graduate in my family (Associates degree in 2017)
- There are no healthcare professionals in the immediate family as most of my siblings were expected to work after graduating from high school, therefore never had the chance to go to college.
- I've worked 20-30 hrs per week every semester after graduating high school, even until today.

Family History: Mother works works full time (at least tries to) at Costco as a food court worker, while my father retired in 2016 after 22 years working at Costco, working in box collection/disposal. I have two brothers who are both mailmen and four sisters, two of whom works as dental receptionists, one works as a check processing company and the other works as a biller.

Here is my situation:

I was not a good student in high school, prioritizing being a class clown over my studies. After barely graduating high school in 2013, I went on to an NJ community college to do some soul searching, and the bad study habits (or lack thereof) carried over through my first two and a half years in community college (I also had changed majors 4 times). This was until the Spring 2016 when i received my first even "A" in a class which was anatomy and physiology I. This course was taught by a retired physician, who inspired me to learn more of the human body and its functions, and also whom i still keep in contact today.