MPH or MSPH

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Columbia09

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone it's been a while ! So long story short I graduated last year from a top state school with a double major in biology and geobiology with a history minor. Graduated in the top 6% (3.78 GPA), had a senior thesis, and wanted to go to graduate school to get either an MS or PhD in Geology (I was a pre med before going that route but no longer wanted to pursue it). I wasn't able to get into any programs without funding plus I began to think that even with a masters/PhD it would still be difficult to find a job. So I started to look for work and couldn't find anything until I got called by the NYPD and decided to be a police officer. I also enlisted in the USAF as an aerospace medical evacuation squadron member as a part time job. I want to get my masters in something that's science related and marketable (where I can potential make a lot of money after I retire at 48). My goal for the air force is to become an officer and my recruiter mentioned me possibly getting a MPH. I can become a Public Health officer and I can also work for the medical division in the NYPD. Now after doing some research online a lot of people have said that epidemiology and biostatistics are the two most marketable concentrations. Is this true ? They also stated that an MS in public health also "looks better" instead of an MPH. So what are some good programs in the NYC area or the surrounding states ? The weakest part of my application will probably be my GRE which is a 290. Do these programs give a lot of weight to them or can they be waived ? The NYPD and air force offer scholarships, in fact if I do 36 months of active duty the AF will pay for my masters 100%.

Members don't see this ad.