Pre- Dental school rant. I need advice.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Deeznukinfuts

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, so a year ago I took my DAT and didn’t do so great. (18AA, 19TS). I’m normally a really good student, and school was never really hard for me.. I majored in micro, immunology, and molecular genetics from UCLA and graduated this year with a 3.78..Ever since I walked out of that test center I had a phobia of taking tests. I was in utter shock. I remeber the ride back home my parents had to pull over so I could throw up.. I was so confused. I had never pereformed so poorly.. I had a 3.9 and got almost straight As in undergrad and that phobia continued with me through my senior year.. which is why I graduated with a little lower of a gpa. Up to that point school had been a breeze for me but i literally lost myself after that day The thought of the DAT makes me soo nervous for some reason... anyways, I applied this cycle with those weak numbers and MIRACULOUSLY got into a decent school.. now, I know this may sound weird, but I’m planning on retaking my DAT. I’ve already graduated and have like 8 months to kill.. I tutor and make good money @ nights so I really want to retake my DAT TO PROVE TO MYSELF I CAN. I know for most of u this sounds ridiculous and completely useless . But for me it’s a big deal. I have to overcome this funk. I have to convince myself it’s just a stupid test and I can kill it. Lol it sounds comical but really, I’ve been so affected by this test it’s something my gut tells me I neeed to do.

Now that that’s out the system, here’s my question. God forbid I take the DAT and do really bad, will the school I got in get notified of this? I don’t plan on taking it till literally a week or so before dental school starts. If I don’t choose any schools when scheduling for my DAT, will they get it?

Thanks , I appreciate it.

Edit:3.78

Members don't see this ad.