This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

maybedoctormaybehomeless

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently in a dilemma... Hoping you guys could help me make a choice:

I am currently a sophomore in college. I have applied to various summer undergraduate research programs and am very interested in attending one of these programs if I am accepted. All of the programs are pretty competitive and, I think, would certainly be well-acknowledged by medical school ADCOMs. However, a doctor who I am acquainted with told me not to bother with these programs. He claims that they are not worth it since I would not be able to get a publication out of them. Instead, he is urging me to stay at home, tutor his kids in SAT (his main motivation), and do a bit of clinical research with him. He admitted that the research would not be very meaningful (I would just be collecting data essentially) but that he would get me published. I am having trouble deciding between going to a summer research program or doing what he says. Just how important is getting published for med school application? I don't know if I would be willing to waste a summer tutoring kids and doing meaningless "research" just for the publication.

Another factor to consider: the doctor also teaches at my top choice medical school, so I assume that he could potentially give me a little boost in the admissions with a letter of recommendation if I stay on his good side.

Members don't see this ad.

Few Med school matriculants have publications. If the research sounds interesting and engaging then try for it. And if it's as selective as you think then adcoms will likely know that and look favorably on it.

Few Med school matriculants have publications. If the research sounds interesting and engaging then try for it. And if it's as selective as you think then adcoms will likely know that and look favorably on it.