This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

talyn86

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, everyone. I'm currently a sophomore at the University of Pittsburgh. So far, my classes are going well, and I think I have a solid plan for extracurricular activities, but I would like an outsider's opinion.

Here are the 15 activities I have, or plan to have, by the end of my college career. The bold ones are the ones that are tentative (i.e. I plan to start them in the near future).
1. UPMC Hospital Volunteer (2 years, 4 hours/week)
2. Hospice Music Therapy Volunteer (2 years, 3 hours/week)
3. Shadowing (already have 20 hours, would like to shadow at least 3 more specialties)
4. American Medical Student Association (member for 4 years, peer mentor for 2; 2 hours/week for membership, 3 additional hours/month for mentoring, plus additional hours for extra club activities)
5. Tutoring or TA (2 years, not sure about hours)
6. Annual Church Mission Trips (5 since 2014, and I intend to do more; both religious and service-oriented, in partnership with the local organizations of each area we visit; all trips have been 1 week except the most recent one, which was 2 weeks)
7. Church Worship Band (8 years total, 2 different churches, 8 hours/week)
8. Research Poster and Presentation (already completed, 1 semester for credit)
9. North Way College Core Leadership Team (4 years; hours vary, at least 6/month)
10. Summer job as a file clerk at a health equipment firm (4 years, 20 hours/week)
11. Youth Refugee Volunteer (2 years; would involve helping with weekly meetings for refugee children, educating them, and providing support for their families; start with 3 hours/week, potentially more)
12. Possible summer internship

13. Dean's List (will be replaced with a more interesting activity, if I find one)
14. Research position at the local hospital (2 years, ~6-8 hours week)
15. Copywriter at Fiverr (7 years; paid hobby)