This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

M1i

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a question on whether it would be wise or not to mention my struggle with substance abuse on my application/ letter of intent. I believe it may be beneficial, however others have advised me against it (None of which are pre-med students or advisors). There are many factors involved in this:

1) I am a non traditional student, who has an atrocious transcript for my first two years after high school at a state college (consisting of many F’s and W’s). Followed by another 4 year gap in my life where I have nothing productive to show for, no academics, no job...nothing. All of which stems directly from my substance abuse.

2) My wanting to become a physician is derived from this life experience. It grew dramatically from the idea that I initially wanted to be a clinical psychologist for other people with substance abuse.

3) I would also (eloquently) state how it has shaped the person I am today, as it has. Providing me with many positive characteristics including resilience, adaptability, patience, and a greater understanding of illness. Even if it is just mental illness.

I argue that by including this on my statement it would somewhat justly explain my wasted time and poor grades. Allow me to explain one of my true reasons for wanting to practice medicine and definitely make me stand out. I just worry I may stand out in a bad way, and an admissions board may have an understandable bias. Please know that I would leave out all the dark and gory details of my substance abuse and would only use it in a positive light to illustrate growth, insight and explanation. And backing it up, since my return to school I have recieved an A in all my classes, work experience, leadership experience, volunteered (clinically and non), as well as shadowed. So I anticipate to have a strong application
SORRY FOR THE LONG POST BUT OPINIONS PLEASE!