The Weight of a Valuable Research Experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which would you choose?

• Total voters

oxalfa

Reaction score
So I am a student at Drexel University, and for anyone that doesn't know, this is a co-op school (similar to NortheasternU). I am on a 5-year undergraduate program with 3, 6-month long cycles of co-ops each. Basically, I am alternating being in classes for 6 months with being on a co-op for 6 months (year-round schooling).

A few months ago I have joined a research lab at the College of Medicine and have really enjoyed being there, although I have an upcoming dilemma. This fall I will start applying for my first co-op and I am unsure whether I should...

A. Work part-time (3 days a week) in my current research lab, unpaid, and work part-time as a medical scribe...

B. Work in clinical research full time at UPenn hospital or Children's Hospital of Philadelphia. (note: this would mean I could not be a part of my current lab while on co-op since they are full-time positions) (decent money)

or C. Work in pharmaceutical research at a company like GlaxoSmithKline (again would not be able to be a part of my current lab). (big $$$ for students)

Luckily, the PI of my lab has told me she would be perfectly fine with me doing whatever I want and that I would always be welcome back if I left.

HOWEVER, the problem is that being in her lab full-time could lead to a larger impacting research experience (like publication) since I would be there while in classes and on co-op. The alternative is doing mini projects and getting smaller acknowledgements for working and doing research in her lab.