kittyhawk

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am currently a junior in high school. I have an interest to go into Emergency Medicine. I do understand the mental work pressure/ work ethic that specific field demands of. I'd like to have some advice or honest criticism through this :)
I have a boyfriend who is very intelligent, charismatic, and talented. He is a first year at a competitive college (0.8% acceptance rate), double majoring in both pre-med and a music degree. Throughout high school I've known him to always be studious, yet making time to be devoted in extracurricular and other programs. He's someone I could never be...
I do not have the best nor worse grades. I would say I'm an average student, but lacking in any talents whatsoever. Competitive colleges won't be happening for me :c. I have a passion for giving without receiving and have always dreamed of becoming an aid worker in disastrous situations. Being in Emergency Medicine would be beneficial for this type of volunteer work; specifically looking towards MSF (& I plan to work in hospitals, and later save for aid working). Being under pressure gives me the push to focus/work harder and a fast paced environment makes me more alert.
The thing is, my family and him, they perceive me through:
I love reading, fashion, plushies = As if I cannot be down to earth with subjects as sciences and math.
They probably never imagined me to consider becoming a doctor. I will be the first in my family to have an education in college. I don't share my doctor plans to anyone, because my studies aren't spectacular even though I do work my hardest.