This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

datpremedgirl

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just wondering... what is your general impression of the "tier" these following schools belong to (mid or low):

Saint Louis
Temple
George Washington
Rochester
Iowa
Tufts

Members don't see this ad.

Not that I'm really an expert, but I would say mid-tier??? Except for Temple maybe.
Only basing that off a general impression on here.

1) Drop the obsession with tiers.
2) They're all good schools. Tuition at Tufts is obscene, though
3) On LizzyM score, they rank as follows Iowa, Rochester (72) > SLU, Gtown, Tufts (70) > Temple (69)

When I advise people on lists, Rochester and Iowa tend to be on the higher end, based upon the company they keep on the lists. For example, I equate Rochester with Emory, Einstein, Keck and Hofstra

Just wondering... what is your general impression of the "tier" these following schools belong to (mid or low):

Saint Louis
Temple
George Washington
Rochester
Iowa
Tufts

Reactions: 12 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Rochester>Iowa>St Louis>Temple>Tufts>GW

Reactions: 1 user
I think "tiers" is a silly thing for medical schools, but I'd probably say:

Rochester ~= Iowa

Temple ~= Tufts ~= GW ~= St. Louis

By that, I mean to say that Rochester and Iowa are slightly better than the rest (upper end of mid-tier) while the other four round out the mid-tier. I don't think that there are any meaningful differences between the four, however. It more depends on location, personal preference, grading system, cost, etc.

To me:

Top-tier= You know them
Mid-tier= Not top-tier but has the research and/or resources to set you up for any specialty you like
Low-tier= Little research and you'll have to put in more legwork to set yourself up for a competitive specialty.

All those schools fit into the mid-tier category, but SLU, Iowa, Rochester, and somewhat Temple win points on price

Reactions: 1 users