3.52 overall, 494 mcat 2015 (Should I apply to the Caribbean too?)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DocHopeful1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm new to SDN so bear with me :)

So I already graduated from undergrad this past May, and I'm in the process of sending back my secondaries. My overall GPA is 3.52 (grades had been improving since freshman year and my last semester of undergrad was a 4.0 GPA). I have taken the new MCAT and the score is not great (494 new), I know this is crazy, but I've applied to 25 MD schools and 34 DO schools. Secondaries for all but 6-8 of them have been sent. So far, I've been rejected secondaries or interviews from 7 MD schools and 9 DO schools. I just wanted to know what you guys think my chances are of getting an interview.

Edit: I would really like to be in medical school for Fall 2016. I haven't applied to the Caribbean schools yet, but what about my chances at Caribbean schools? What are your thoughts on those schools in general?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
OP, I think you need to retake the MCAT if you want to have a hope of either MD or DO. Your GPA works for DO and probably some lower MD's if your MCAT scores were higher.

Reactions: 3 users
I'd be very surprised if you got an interview at an MD school unless you have some unbelievable component of your app. We already know your GPA is less than unbelievable, so it has to be something else. Sorry.

If you applied intelligently, you may have a shot at DO. Even then, your MCAT is just not up to par.

Best of luck. I'm not trying to be a jerk when I say, 'you'll need it'. :shy:

Edit: I think Saxappeal's advice is good. Multiple retakes are usually bad, but you need to retake and score probably above 24 or so to have an ok shot at DO.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)