Auburn C/O 2028

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eleanor713

Reaction score
Hi! I’m a 2nd time applicant but first time to auburn (OOS)

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I have been working on my VMCAS application for the 2023-2024 cycle and will apply to Auburn's CVM for this upcoming deadline of September 15th. I met with my pre-health advisor a few days ago to review my personal statement and get final advice on finishing everything up when they noticed I did not have any large animal experience listed. They informed me that they were pretty sure this cycle required both small and large animal experience.
I have over 5000 hours of small animal/exotic/wildlife/avian experience but zero farm/equine experience. I know that they want diverse candidates and that large animal experience will be helpful during rotations, so I have volunteer hours with a large animal veterinarian lined up for when the semester begins. Still, I had planned on submitting my application before classes started on the 16th so that I could focus on my studies.
Does anyone know if large animal experience is required for this application cycle for Auburn, and if so, what would the minimum hours I need to have documented before I submit my application? I have looked on VMSAR and Auburn's CVM website about prospective students and requirements and cannot find anything definitive.
Any advice would be super helpful; I feel silly for not realizing this sooner.
Send a short email asking to clarify the requirement. Be professional, which means short and succinct.

Members don't see this ad :)
1st time OOS - good luck everyone!

Third time OOS! First time applying to Auburn! Good luck to everyone!

First time OOS! Good luck and congratulations to everyone who submitted their applications!

Decisions , but it’s probably way too early but some vet schools have already sent out some so I guess it depends