Des Moines

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
What is everyone's thoughts/ feelings toward Des Moines' osteopathic program? I am currently a pre-dental student but have always considered medicine, plus Des Moines would be really close to where my girlfriend is going to grad school.
-thanks in advance

Members don't see this ad.

ive only heard good things about the school, on the other hand, i heard the city it is in is not so great

Members don't see this ad :)
Its pure awesome

As an outsider who never thought she would move to IA, I can tell you Des Moines is a very nice city. If you want partying, it may not be for you but it is clean, cheap and a nice place to live.:thumbup:

Although I haven't lived in Des Moines, I did attend undergrad at a school in Iowa and have lots of friends from the Des Moines Area. Iowa is a great place to live. You won't find a nicer or more friendly community. If you are looking for the thrill of a big city, then Des Moines probably isn't the best place to relocate to, but it would be a great place for medical school b/c there would be few disractions. And its not like Des Moines is the stereotypical "Iowa Cornfields". You won't need to drive an hour to go to the grocery store. Its very well developed, and has everything you need. I believe you said you were from Wisconsin, so I guess you could consider Des Moines to be a little bit like Madison, but not as big.