Dilemma for pre-commissioned, pre-med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

smudge2014

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all!

I've been stalking through SDN for a couple years now, but this is the first time I've posted.

I'm currently a Cadet at a service academy (Kinesiology major), junior, currently in the final roster for the pre-medical program here. Basically the program is that you complete at least the required 4 courses (orgo I, II, human phys, and Biology), score at least a 509 on your MCAT and maintain at least a 3.4 GPA to remain competative for the HPSP scholarship.

Dilemma: I know I want to become a physician, but jumping right into medical school right now (and betting 12 years of my life that I will love being an Army physician) is giving me cold feet.
I've loved my shadowing experience and have provided emergency medical support as part of a club (with certification, of course).
Nothing seems to steer me away from going to medical school right now other than the aforementioned service obligation and the fact that I can't stand/(possibly?) can't hack it with Orgo II.
this week, I have to make a decision about whether or not I should drop Orgo II, drop the pre-med program, bring up my GPA, and take community college classes or do a year post-bac after my 5 years of service obligation and apply then. I feel that not having taken biochemistry before the MCAT will put me at a huge dissadvantage, and that remaining in Orgo II will prevent me from raising my GPA before branching statistics are finalized.

My stats:
cGPA: 3.52
sGPA (if engineering classes are included): 3.55

required pre-med classes:

biology- A-
Orgo I- B+
Physiology- (currently enrolled, not doing so hot at a B)
Orgo II- (currently enrolled, also not doing so hot at a B-)

I feel like my stats aren't too bad, with the exception of the two pre-recs below a B+.