Leaving MD for MHA?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

videocassette

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I am a first year medical student seriously considering leaving because I want to have a family and lead a more balanced lifestyle sooner rather than later. I have a cousin in healthcare administration and have been looking into that as a career. I majored in Econ in undergrad and worked as an research analyst in a search firm for a year where I looked into big healthcare systems and their leadership. I understand on a broad level what an administrator does, but there is still so much I don't know. I was wondering if you guys could help me with some advice or information? Here are some questions I have?

1) What is the day to day life like of an administrator?
2) What is the career trajectory after getting an MHA? I hear you can go into consulting or hospital settings afterwards? I think I am interested in both.
3) How is the lifestyle? Is there a lot of long hours or traveling?
4) What are some skills that are essential to becoming successful in this field?
5) Is it a very competitive field? Is job security an issue?
6) What kind of projects do administrators work on?

Thank you so much in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Don't do it. I suspect Hospital Administrators would die for the opportunity to become an MD. The uncertain part of medical school is the first 2 years, really. Do you think you can tough it out for at least then? You can still be an MD and have a family successfully. It's common to experience what you're experiencing. I know it's hard but others have done it and so can you. If you still want to do it, do the MHA after you get your MD. The fact that you're in a medical school now is very valuable and you wouldn't want to give that up.

Yeaaa, I really agree with what the above poster mentioned.