This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HopefulMed777

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is my first post on SDN. I'm in a very specific situation, and any advice would be greatly appreciated. I would like to preface by saying that it is my dream to one day become a doctor. I am currently taking 2 labs, two second level science classes, and two electives. I am a full-time dual enrollment student, who is graduating with an associates degree at the end of this semester. It is looking like I will have to withdrawal from my Chemistry 2 course because I just got a 35% on my first exam, and based on my professor's grading scale, I do not believe I can get higher than a D. I talked to my professor, and he reached a similar conclusion, mentioning that maybe a C would be possible. I currently am sitting on a 4.0 (currently have nearly 60 credits), and I do not want to jeopardize my GPA. I cannot pinpoint what went wrong on this exam. I started studying two weeks out, and when I look the practice test the night before, I got a 97 precent. This scares me. My concern is that when I leave to a 4 year university at the end of this year and try to retake the course, it will be harder, and the class size will be much larger. I worry that I am inadequate in some way. I'm also worried that I will forget the material from Chemistry 1 and will have to retake it. I received an A the first time in chemistry, and it might look weird to retake a class I already received an A in. I'm scared about how the withdrawal would be precieved. Also, even though I have an A in lab, I would be required to withdraw from the lab as well, per school policy, so it's really two W's. I've been crying because my academic advisor told me the two W's may look very bad and can dissuade admittance for certain MD schools. Please tell me if I am overreacting, or if my reaction is justified. Please tell me what, if anything, I should do.