This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sandprince

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey, I need some advice with what to do this summer. I have just graduated from my undergrad in Biological sciences. I am a Canadian student looking to apply in both US and Canadian medical schools this cycle. I applied last cycle and received feedback from schools; my GPA and MCAT scores were fine, but my Personal activities were lacking. I think for the most part I scored low on the personal activity section (heavily weighted in Canada) due to rushing through the app (could've worded things better).

This summer I will be rewriting my MCAT, to improve on my CARS score which was a bit on the lower side. I also want to do something that I may add to my application (due October 1st for Canada), that can help improve my personal activities score. I would greatly appreciate ideas, advice, tips on what I could do this summer to up that section on my application. I know that long term commitments are what admissions usually look for, however at this point I have approximately ~4.5 months to do something that can hopefully spice up my application a bit. All advice welcome!

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

What EC's have you completed so far for clinical and non-clinical volunteering and how many hours for each? If we know what you have already accomplished it will be easier to see where you may be lacking.

Reactions: 1 user
What EC's have you completed so far for clinical and non-clinical volunteering and how many hours for each? If we know what you have already accomplished it will be easier to see where you may be lacking.

Won't be able to tell you in hours, but over the past few years basically: