What can I do to get off waitlist?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

julianbashir

Reaction score
What can I do to identify and address any areas of weakness that would hinder my ability to get off the waitlist?

I am willing to do anything I can do to try and get off the waitlist at my top choice, but I’m not sure what they want to see in an update.

For context; I graduated college ~3 years ago so I don’t have any upcoming grades that can be submitted, I’m currently working in a research position, and I volunteer in-person twice a week and online once a month. I currently only have patient contact one day per month, but I have had more direct clinical exposure in the past.

I’m not sure whether my clinical exposure is a weak point or whether adding in some last-minute shadowing will make a difference— I’m not really sure how to identify what my weak points are, or what can be done about them.

I know that my GPA, MCAT, late application, and subpar interview skills all held me back from getting that initial acceptance at this school, so I do know my key weak points, but those aren’t things that I can do something about in my current waitlisted position— what’s done is done. Now I have to figure out what, if anything, I can do to get off the waitlist!

The med school does accept update letters from waitlisted applicants and I have until early May when waitlist movement starts to do something update-letter-worthy that will make a difference in my competitiveness.

Are there any activities I can start that folks would recommend doing? I hope to combine a letter of update with a letter of intent.

Thank you all for your help & please forgive me if I posted in the wrong forum or used the wrong tags— I’m still new here and trying to figure it out!

Members don't see this ad.