Need advice, should I even apply this cycle?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted829492

Hi guys!

So, I've been a lurker for quite some time. I'm in a bit of a dilemma. My decision to do dental was a fairly recent one, and I want to apply this cycle (I'm going to be graduating this spring). I was going to do PA before, but I changed my mind.

So, stats:
Overall GPA: 3.5
Science GPA: ~3.3
Research: None
Work: Several retail places over the course of my college career, got a Dental Assistant position the beginning of this year.
Volunteering: ~100 or so hours at various organizations/food banks
Shadowing: None, but I plan on shadowing at least ~20 or so hours before I apply.
DAT: Taking this summer.
Other: Minor in art, I am an avid artist. I also am in the honors college.

Now, the problem is that I have had to work for nearly my entire undergrad career due to financial stress in my family. My mom is also very sick, and is nowadays bedridden for days. My father is the sole provider for our family, and he is also nearly 70 years old and has had several heart attacks and health complications. I have endured years of physical and verbal abuse from my mom, and this stems from an unhealthy/unloving marriage, financial stress, and cultural expectations. I have developed anxiety and depression due to this, and have sought counseling. My brother is involved with drugs and there have been nights were I would be trying to study for a final, only to be kicked out of the house, to have to endure crazy episodes of hysteria and violence, or to have the cops come into my house.

This is no excuse, nor do I plan on trying to throw a pity party for myself. I have recognized the problems in my household, and even moved out for a semester in order to put distance between myself and my family.