This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SunflowerRx

Reaction score
Hello, I am a current PY2 enrolled in a top 5 pharmacy program. I currently have a 3.0 GPA. I have a bachelor's degree (something my program doesn't require), research and leadership experience, and an internship at a local retail store. What are my chances of matching with a program such as the VA?

I have a strong interest in chronic disease management--such as diabetes.

Members don't see this ad.

I mean, you have another two years before you're even applying, it is extremely early to be asking a question like this. Just keep it up with the experience/involvement aspects, but know that a 3.0 is not a terribly competitive GPA. Also I don't feel like pharmacy school rankings really mean all that much. your 3.0 is still a 3.0, even if you're at a top 5 school.

Reactions: 2 users
Ask again in another year when your prime focus is rotations and NAPLEX prep.

If given the opportunity, network with someone to rotate you in a VA setting. Get familiar with CHCS / AHLTA / GSL and Scriptpro system so you can better understand how the inpatient side can correlate with both the formulary and non-formulary system of outpatient pharmacy.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
While a 3.0 GPA is a 3.0 GPA, going to a well known, top 5 school most definitely will play to your advantage. School reputation definitely goes a long way when it comes to residency, and from my experience, RPD's would prefer applicants from well-known schools that produce good applicants than new schools with no reputation.

Reactions: 1 user