This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sln12

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm an undergraduate pre-med student. I'm considering pushing my MCAT date to July 20 (scores release August 20). I will have my AMCAS application completed (except MCAT score) by early June and will submit it for the verification process since it takes 6-8 weeks. I will choose one medical school initially to have my application verified and then select additional medical schools the day before or day of MCAT score release.

I know there are advantages to having the AMCAS application submitted with everything but I do not feel completely ready and would rather not sacrifice my first attempt at MCAT exam, even if that means I still won't get a high score or if I don't get in the 2020 cycle. I would at least like to have additional time to prepare and solidify everything.

Any advice is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi all,

I'm an undergraduate pre-med student. I'm considering pushing my MCAT date to July 20 (scores release August 20). I will have my AMCAS application completed (except MCAT score) by early June and will submit it for the verification process since it takes 6-8 weeks. I will choose one medical school initially to have my application verified and then select additional medical schools the day before or day of MCAT score release.

I know there are advantages to having the AMCAS application submitted with everything but I do not feel completely ready and would rather not sacrifice my first attempt at MCAT exam, even if that means I still won't get a high score or if I don't get in the 2020 cycle. I would at least like to have additional time to prepare and solidify everything.

You can do this, but add more schools only AFTER you have seen your MCAT score and are satisfied with it.

Do you have a pre-med advisor at your school? More importantly a good advisor? This might be a great question to ask them.