Status
Not open for further replies.

Rumalum

7+ Year Member
Apr 28, 2012
Status
Medical Student
Wondering about your thoughts on these two schools.

I am a resident of Illinois, but the tuition ends up being the same since M2 and M3 at U of I costs 76k per year (that's Illinois legislature for you). Anyways, the only thing I care about is how much personal expenses I receive, and both schools are comparable.

It's hard to compare match lists since U of I is spread everywhere (I would graduate from the Rockford campus) and the class sizes are so different. I do know that VCU gets way more early clinical experience and its M1 building isn't composed of just two rooms like the Urbana campus. However, I've heard that the hospitals in Rockford don't have residents so med students get more responsibilities. Then again, the hospital system at VCU is pretty amazing.

If it matters, I have an interest in internal medicine

phnerd1105

5+ Year Member
Dec 18, 2010
Somewhere over the rainbow
Status
Medical Student
Jun 21, 2011
Illinois
Status
Medical Student
Why do you say this?
UIC is has been deteriorating their class strength for years by becoming one of the (if not THE) most expensive public medical in the country. Some schools with high rankings or excellent research opportunities can justify a tuition increase, but UIC has neither. Although it is just a personal belief, I think that UIC is becoming more of a "last resort" school than a "first choice" school for many of its applicants, especially the OOS applicants considering their extreme tuition and lower ranking. This showed when I was talking to students during my interview day... they didn't seem happy at all (in Peoria at least)

I also had a horrible interviewing experience, a track placement based on where I lived and not on my life experiences, and I don't agree with the fact that the only scholarships this state school gives out is to OOS students.