WVU vs EVMS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Eastern Virginia Medical school or West Virginia University

• Total voters

myocardial_Infarction

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I would really love some input on my decision-making process. I am currently a Virginia resident who is accepted at EVMS and WVU. WVU has offered me a 20k/year scholarship that would essentially offset the OOS cost associated with attending the school. I estimate to graduate with around 240K in loans if I attend this school. EVMS has yet to send out their financial aid packages--probably will not receive them until AFTER the April 30th deadline--but assuming I receive no scholarships, I would graduate with around 235k in loans. I think the financial cost is pretty negligible.
Both schools have excellent level 1 trauma center teaching hospitals right next to the school and emphasize ultrasound into their curriculum. WVU uses a systems based approach and EVMS is actually changing their curriculum coincidentally this year (so we would be the guinea pig class) to a systems based approach as well.
Obviously Morgantown and Norfolk are two very different cities but I dont think I would mind living in either. The overall atmosphere I gather at both schools is very friendly. What other things should I factor into my decision and how do you think going to a school that is implementing a new curriculum will affect the incoming c/o 2020 class?

Members don't see this ad.

Is one of these P/F and the other ABCDF? That would be a dealbreaker for me.