Does Baylor College of Medicine Discriminate Undergrad Schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

TexasSurgeon

I don't pay state taxes
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, thanks in advance.

I'm currently a sophomore at a big school in Texas. As I've been going through college, I've heard that BCM (which I am very interested in) looks at the undergrad institution attended and includes that in the acceptance process. Is this true? I feel like I have / will have good stats and ECs/etc. by the time it comes to apply, but I just don't want to feel that I could have had a higher chance of getting in if I had gone to UT, because I was accepted there as well. I love where I go though. I'm just worried of how Baylor may take it, if that makes sense.

Also, what do you guys think if I spent 5 years in undergrad? How would Baylor view that?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

All schools consider what school you're coming from to some degree. You've already made your choice, though, so I wouldn't obsess over it. You shouldn't live your life as a grand checklist for medical school.

If you have decent ECs and stellar GPA/MCAT, it won't matter what school you're coming from.

I'm currently a sophomore at a big school in Texas. As I've been going through college, I've heard that BCM (which I am very interested in) looks at the undergrad institution attended and includes that in the acceptance process. Is this true? I feel like I have / will have good stats and ECs/etc. by the time it comes to apply, but I just don't want to feel that I could have had a higher chance of getting in if I had gone to UT, because I was accepted there as well. I love where I go though. I'm just worried of how Baylor may take it, if that makes sense.

Also, what do you guys think if I spent 5 years in undergrad? How would Baylor view that?

Thank you!