2022-2023 Arkansas

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wysdoc

Plain-spoken Texan
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
Lifetime Donor
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Please feel free to tag a pre-medical moderator once the secondary prompt has been posted.

Good luck to everyone applying!

Interview feedback:

Members don't see this ad.

Is it worth applying to UAMS as an out of state applicant with ties to the state?

They only took 5 OS applicants last year.

My grandparents (my stepfather’s parents) live in AR and I’ve been traveling to the state 1-2 times a year for the past 12 years. My stepfather was born and raised in AR. Is this a good enough “connection to the state” to apply?

Is it worth applying to UAMS as an out of state applicant with ties to the state?

My grandparents (my stepfather’s parents) live in AR and I’ve been traveling to the state 1-2 times a year for the past 12 years. My stepfather was born and raised in AR. Is this a good enough “connection to the state” to apply?
I would contact the school's admission's department directly to get an idea of how they constitute "ties to the state." From what I saw on MSAR, they only accepted OOS applicants from neighboring states, so that seems to also play a role. I wouldn't want to waste my time and money if there wasn't a good chance I'd be considered.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)

Yes, that would constitute strong ties. Typically, the OSS students who are accepted have very high GPAs and MCAT scores and overall strong applications.

How many interview dates have there been now?

Not sure. From previous years threads there are usually 3 sessions to interview 300-400 in-state applicants. I’m not expecting to know anything till Feb.

any thoughts on if OOS II will be sent out today or if people will start hearing next week?

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)