A question of evaluating debt: Northwestern and Wayne State

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Which school (given the price)?

• Northwestern (more expensive)

• Wayne State

Results are only viewable after voting.

fhexhockey

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I've been seriously struggling to make a solid decision on schools right now. I have narrowed down my choices to Northwestern and Wayne State. The following discussion may mirror many dilemmas faced on SDN in the past, but I've come to the point where I would like some fresh input.

I am a Michigan resident who has spent significant time in the city of Detroit. My entire medical school application was centered around my service and commitment to the city, and it has been the one place where I have envisioned the most spending my medical education. I love the city and feel a strong connection, so it has always made sense for me to finally move there. My family is originally from Detroit and many of my relatives live in the Metro area, including a SO. For me, Detroit has been a home to me and would definitely be the more conservative choice since I am so comfortable there (I went to undergrad about 45 min away). The school however is very "old school". Grades, students ranked by a z-score placing students 1-290, and traditional curriculum of lectures and exams (2+2 style). This may make it more stressful thinking about rank all of the time.

I still have not heard about any financial aid or scholarships, so as of present I assume full price COA (about $217K over 4 years). I did go to second look, during which they offered an essay competition for a $10k/year scholarship, and Wayne has been known to give out scholarships up until April 30. So my current thought is that if I receive a half to full tuition scholarship by April 30, I would consider taking this financial incentive.