• Ohio State

Votes: 13 18.3%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
Aug 17, 2009
Status
Medical Student
Hey all, I'm in the fortunate position of having to choose between these schools, and I'm creating this thread primarily to see if people point out things about these schools that I hadn't thought about or considered. I will say, however, that I'm an Ohio resident. Staying in Ohio isn't important to me but it will make OSU a bit cheaper.

So....thoughts?

Emergency!

10+ Year Member
Jul 20, 2004
Michigan
Status
Attending Physician
It will make OSU a LOT cheaper (esp. compared to Case). I haven't looked at the figures recently, but Case's tuition alone used to be more than the entire cost of attendance at OSU.

I don't know much about Pitt, but Case and OSU both have very good reputations. In the Case vs OSU argument, does what Case have to offer make it worth the extra cost to you? No right or wrong answer, but that extra student loan debt really adds up.

Aug 17, 2009
Status
Medical Student
It will make OSU a LOT cheaper (esp. compared to Case). I haven't looked at the figures recently, but Case's tuition alone used to be more than the entire cost of attendance at OSU.
Unfortunately, that's not the case anymore. The difference in cost of attendance is ~20k per year, which is nothing to sneeze at, but not as bad as some private vs. state schools. Both Case and OSU are on the more expensive side for private and state schools respectively.

BBender716

Med school drop out!
10+ Year Member
Jan 12, 2009
Illinoisville
Status
Non-Student
For me it'd be between Pitt and OSU. Case has great research opportunities, but I felt a little bit like I was walking through high school hallways. I also heard that you don't do many rotations through Cleveland Clinic, it's mostly through UH, which is by no means a slouch of a hospital, it's just a clarification that needs to be stated.