Texas residency matching question

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

summer14

MS0
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm starting med school this summer/fall and am choosing between two medical schools. I am a FL resident but my family lives in Texas and I would really like to do my residency there. My choices are between UF and UTMB. I was wondering if doing medical school in Texas would greatly help with getting a residency spot there. At the same time, I wonder if the higher rank of UF would make it easier getting a residency there. In short, how do the factors of location/rank of medical school play out?

Thanks for any/all help!!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Reactions: 6 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Just curious, if you want to do a residency in Texas, why aren't you more excited about getting into med school there? Also, I've heard that getting a residency spot is easier at UTMB if you went to school there, but not sure how that plays out statewide.

Disclaimer: I'm starting UTMB in the fall and probably pretty biased towards it

Reactions: 1 user
Regional bias is real, but if you are from Texas and do your aways there, going to UF would be fine too. I'd go to the cheaper (if significantly different) or school you liked better.

I don't pay attention to school ranks, but how much higher is UF really than UTMB? Unless UF as a bona fide top 20 then I agree with the above.

Texas regional bias is strong, as has been stated. Should you change your mind, you'll probably have an easier time matching to UF from UTMB than to UTMB from UF, all else being equal.

And I bet UTMB is cheaper.

Reactions: 1 user