UCLA vs UCSD I'm stuck at 50/50

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

confusedchild

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know that threads in the past have explored this topic already but I want to bring it up because I think I have considerations that other threads in the past did not address and also because one of schools, UCSD, is undergoing a lot of changes and the threads in the past are thus a bit outdated...

I know that I'm very very lucky to have been accepted to two very great schools. These two schools are pretty much the two top schools of the interviews I've attended; so the process is pretty much over for me now. Now, the hard part is to choose which one to attend.

So I'm a UCLA undergrad and I'm taking 4 years + 2 quarters to complete my degree (this being my last quarter here), and herein lies my problem. After interviewing at a number of schools, I told myself that UCSD was my number 1 because I absolutely loved the area, the city, the students I interacted with both on tour and during the dinner, and the transparent and very supportive/enthusiastic admissions people. I didn't have an extremely positive perception of UCLA for several reasons: 1. the interview day wasn't as organized and a presentation/tour were pretty much nonexistent. I didn't get to learn much about the school (which I now know I shouldn't make a decision without being well informed). 2. I've been here for five years and a turn off is that I don't really want to stay in the same place again for another 4 years, but I don't know if that is a valid enough consideration to not attend such a great school.