IU vs UA vs CU

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IU vs UA vs CU

• Indiana

Votes: 9 39.1%
  • UA Tucson

Votes: 3 13.0%
  • Colorado

Votes: 11 47.8%

• Total voters

MDShallBe

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I'm a new user to SDN, but I have been intermittently reading/lurking on SDN for the last few years. I have gained a lot of valuable information from this site and have been so grateful and fortunate this year to have received multiple acceptances. Never in my wildest dreams would I have ever imagined I would have this opportunity. I am a non-trad student from SoCal. I thought I knew exactly what school I would be attending this Fall, however, I recently received two unexpected acceptances within the last week, and now I am really not sure. Below are my pros and cons list for each school I am currently considering.

Indiana University:

Pros:
-Friendly environment/faculty, my interviewer was incredibly relaxed and spoke a lot about the friendliness environment at IU
-New integrative curriculum being put in place across all regional sites beginning in Fall (really liked the direction the curriculum is going)
-Excellent campus facilities from what I saw (at least in Indianapolis where I interviewed)
-Cost of living low throughout Indiana
-IU has several competitive residency/fellowship positions. (I'm somewhat interested in Emergency Med at this time, and IU has one of the best EM residency programs in the country)

Cons:
-Its Indiana
-Farthest of the 3 from SoCal
-Don't know what regional site I will be placed at, may not get top choice (Indy)
-Snow/Cold weather
-56k OOS tuition
-Students are spread out all over the state which may lead to disconnect between regional sites
-Middle-Lower Tier reputation/ranking
-H/HP/P/F grading
-300+ students in entering class spread amongst all sites (may not be as personable due to size)

University of Colorado:

Pros: