Jefferson vs. UMich vs. Missouri

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jefferson vs. UMich vs. Missouri

• Total voters

FutahDoctah

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys, this is my first time posting and I am hoping for some advice. I have been fortunate enough to receive multiple MD acceptances and am having trouble choosing between three schools. I am a Missouri resident and am not exactly sure what I am interested in re my future career path. I am somewhat interest in ENT and would like to have the option to shoot for a competitive specialty.

Jefferson:
  • For me, the biggest perk of Jeff is the QOL/location/Jeff community. I got a great vibe at my interview day and could easily see myself fitting in as a student. Furthermore, I see both the larger student body and the great location in center city as big pluses. Because Jeff does not have an undergraduate component, it seems like the administration has more time and resources to devote solely to the medical school and to the well being of the students.
  • Students seem very very happy hear and not really that stressed out.
  • The curriculum seemed to be pretty standard. No problems with it.
  • COA would be about $80,000 a year.
  • Students seem to match pretty well, especially on the East Coast. I am not sure where I want to live/work in the long run.

Michigan:

• More prestigious name in medicine (?).
  • Better research opportunities and the option of a dual degree or additional classes through other highly ranked schools/programs.
  • I went to U of M and have already spent four years in AA. I really like Ann Arbor but it is a bit small. I was looking forward to spending the next four years in a bigger city with more going on and a better social scene.
  • COA would be about $80,000 a year.
  • I got a pretty good vibe on interview day. I liked the kids but seemed to click better with the kids at Jeff.