How do I choose?? MD (Toledo) vs DO (MSU) acceptances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

phil413

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here is my dilemma:

I was recently accepted to the University of Toledo (MD) and now have to make a choice between there and MSUCOM (DO). I'm a Michigan resident and I've been exposed to many osteopathic physicians throughout my life and really like the philosophy. However, I know MSU is well known as a primary care training school and I don't want to limit my options in case I do find that I want to specialize in the future (knowing it will be easier to get into a more competitive specialty with an MD degree). I really like UT because of the way the curriculum is structured and how they prepare students for the boards (high pass rate for USMLE, but MSU has a high rate for COMLEX too). That being said, I am now in a tight position because I don't know where I want to go. If it comes down to it, I may have to base my decision on funding: MSU ~ $30,000 and UT ~ $25,000 after getting in-state status and paying $51,000 for MS1.

Any advice is good advice but please dont make this an MD vs DO rant. I'd like input on the schools. Thanks in advance! :)

Members don't see this ad.

sadly, you are going to get an MD v. DO rant. This is SDN and that is how it works around here.

My advice, don't listen to other peoples advice. Go where you felt most comfortable. If you are worried about DO limiting you, go MD. Just reading your post it looked like you favored UT.

Here is my dilemma: