Rochester vs. Jefferson

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

stayorleave123

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys looking for some advice for Rochester vs. Jefferson. Rochester has the rankings, but Jeff has the extensive alumni connection. Any thoughts would be much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I'd be miserable stuck in the middle of nowhere for that long in Rochester.

I'm from Rochester so it wouldn't be that bad. Have a lot of people there still. Live in Philly now though and there is definitely more going on can't deny that. However, I know I can enjoy myself in both places. Really just concerned about my future here.

Members don't see this ad :)

Aww come on... we're the 3rd largest city in NY! :p

I'm a Rochester student (and not originally from anywhere near here!) so if you have any questions... let me know!

Rochester is growing tremendously. There's no question by the time that you finish your degree there, that it's ranking will move up even more. They are building a 50 million dollar translational research building and adding another 100 beds or so to the hospital. Yeah, there's not a ton to do there, but its a beautiful, safe city, with very affordable cost of living. Just thought I'd throw my opinion.

I have a love/hate relationship with the entire University of Rochester system, but overall it's a good school as I'm sure you know. It's very hit or miss depending on who you ask (just like most places), but UR has some great opportunities if you're willing to work.

I'm a bit tired of the area after 10 years though and think I'll try moving to another Rochester come July if nothing changes.

:)

:luck: with your decision.

Welcome to the last 21 years of my life?

:laugh: