2018-2019 University of Alabama

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gyngyn

Alta California
Staff member
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Space reserved for prompt.

Please post the essays or lack thereof (in addition to word or character counts) in this thread and tag one of the pre-allo mods (WedgeDawg, Ismet, Lucca, or gyngyn) so we can update the OP.

Good luck to everyone applying!

Interview Feedback: University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi guys! I'm an MD/PhD student here at UAB (all MSTP students stay on the Birmingham campus). Feel free to ask me any questions that a current student can potentially answer throughout this process! Please just comment in this thread and tag me directly so that I can see/respond for all to see as my schedule allows. :)

Good luck!!!!

Reactions: 2 users
Hi guys! I'm an MD/PhD student here at UAB (all MSTP students stay on the Birmingham campus). Feel free to ask me any questions that a current student can potentially answer throughout this process! Please just comment in this thread and tag me directly so that I can see/respond for all to see as my schedule allows. :)

Good luck!!!!
@starfun21
Hi! I'd love to hear about your experiences as an MD/PhD student and just in general at UAB. I have a few questions if you don't mind:

1) UAB seems like a smaller program; how do you feel about the quality of the labs and graduate programs?
2) What's the average class size for MSTP? Do you happen to know the average graduation time?
3) What's the environment of Birmingham like? I'm a person of color and I've lived in pretty costal/progressive areas for my whole life. I don't want to paint the whole state with a single brush, but I've heard some stories of intolerance, racism, etc.

Thank you :)

Members don't see this ad :)
I will try!