Emory vs Mount Sinai

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Emory vs Mount Sinai

• Emory

Votes: 17 44.7%
  • Mount Sinai

Votes: 21 55.3%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

jen45

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I have been accepted at both and I am still trying to decide where to go. I'm interested in doing research with a focus in neuro, but I want to get a good clinical education as well. And I think I'm pretty decided on doing a neuro or psych residency. Is one higher ranked/more prestigious in this area than the other? Will that make a difference?

As for location, I know NYC is probably more exciting than Atlanta, but I don't want to make a choice just based on that. Plus, I'm not good with cold weather.

I know I probably can't go wrong with either school, but I have to make a decision in a week. Any thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

Sinai's neuroscience dept. is ranked 4th for NIH funding. The dean of the medical school, Dennis Charney, and the president of the medical center, Ken Davis, are bigshots in psych.

I work in Sinai's Neuroscience Department and I can definitely say that we have a very strong program in neuroscience and psych with the addition of a couple of big shots in the past few years. It has increased the funding of the departments and the level of collaboration and connections around the globe. Sinai is also building the Brain Institute with the director being Dr. Eric Nestler, a major figure in the world of neuroscience, addiction and depression research.

Members don't see this ad :)