2020-2021 Iowa (Carver)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

TheDataKing

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Please tag a pre-allo moderator when the secondary prompt is posted.

Good luck to everyone applying!

Interview Feedback: University of Iowa

Members don't see this ad.

(Hopefully this ok on this thread) Does anyone have any idea about what percentage of OOS applicants Iowa accepts? I'm an Illinois resident but U Iowa would be a lot closer to my family than a lot of other OOS schools I'm applying to, so that adds to my motivation to stay in the Midwest. I'm just not sure if Iowa is looking for higher stat OOS applicants than in-state ones. I've got a 512 MCAT/3.86 GPA. Do you think applying here would be a waste of my $$$ or do I have a chance?

OOS Median stats are 3.86/518. Your MCAT is below the OOS 25th percentile (513) but if you can write convincing secondaries about being closer to home or even practicing in eastern Iowa then that might land you an II.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
(Hopefully this ok on this thread) Does anyone have any idea about what percentage of OOS applicants Iowa accepts? I'm an Illinois resident but U Iowa would be a lot closer to my family than a lot of other OOS schools I'm applying to, so that adds to my motivation to stay in the Midwest. I'm just not sure if Iowa is looking for higher stat OOS applicants than in-state ones. I've got a 512 MCAT/3.86 GPA. Do you think applying here would be a waste of my $$$ or do I have a chance?

Are you ORM or URM? I am URM (so that skews things) but I got an interview at Iowa last cycle with a 3.82 and 503/508 MCATs. I totally bombed the interview (it was my first) so I was ultimately rejected, but I expected it after my horrendous day!