Tufts vs. UTHSCSA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

laddr

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was recently accepted off the waitlist at UTHSCSA and only have a few days to make a decision. As a Texas resident, I would be saving $40K a year by going to UTHSCSA so I know this decision is a no-brainer to most people but for me, things are a little more complicated.

First off, I despise Texas, and although I can make a good situation out of anything, I just don't know if I would be all that happy in San Antonio. I'm also really afraid that I will get "stuck" in Texas--not only because I've heard (from friends of mine who graduated from Texas medical schools) it's harder for Texas students to match outside of Texas*, but also because I am an older student who is single and will likely meet my significant other while in med school. Finally, I don't know how I feel about being the first class to go through UTHSCSA's new curriculum. I did the MBS program at Tufts so I'm very familiar with their medical school/curriculum and know that I will be successful there.

There's ultimately a lot of uncertainty when it comes to UTHSCSA but I don't know if there's enough uncertainty to warrant another $160K of debt. Additionally, at the beginning of the application cycle, when I was invited for my interview at UTHSCSA, I told everyone I was only going because it would be dumb not to but that I absolutely did not want to go back to Texas even if it would be saving me a lot of money. When I found out I was waitlisted, I was glad because the decision had been made for me. Now, things have obviously changed and I don't want to regret this decision in the future so I'm trying to seriously consider UTHSCSA. However, if money wasn't an issue, I would definitely go to Tufts.

To sum it up: as compared to UTHSCSA, Tufts = certainty + happiness + 160K.

Thanks in advance for the help.